How I Know When To Use Each Options Strategy

10% Credit Spreads
2 min readApr 22, 2024

Are you ready to simplify the world of technical analysis and options trading? Today, I want to break down the essence of technical analysis, particularly focusing on how it guides my decisions when trading options. Understanding options strategy might seem daunting at first, but trust me, it’s simpler than you think.

Understanding Trends

First things first, let’s talk about trends. When I analyze a stock chart, I look for trends to determine the overall direction of the market. There are three types of trends: uptrend, downtrend, and neutral.

  • Uptrend: In an uptrend, both the highs and lows are ascending. When I spot higher highs and higher lows, it’s a clear indication that the market is on the rise. This is the perfect time to implement bullish options strategies, such as selling puts, buying calls, or engaging in triangle breakouts.
  • Downtrend: Conversely, in a downtrend, both the highs and lows are descending. If I notice lower highs and lower lows, it’s a sign that the market is declining. During a downtrend, I lean towards bearish options strategies, such as selling calls, buying puts, or executing breakout trades.
  • Neutral: When the highs and lows remain relatively stagnant, indicating a sideways movement, we’re in a neutral market. In such cases, I opt for neutral options strategies, such as strangles or iron condors. These strategies capitalize on volatility while mitigating directional risk.

Implementing Options Strategy

Once I’ve identified the prevailing trend, I tailor my options strategies accordingly.

  • Bullish Strategies: In an uptrend, I focus on strategies that benefit from upward price movement, such as selling puts, buying calls, or engaging in bullish chart patterns like triangle breakouts.
  • Bearish Strategies: During a downtrend, I shift towards strategies that profit from downward price movement, such as selling calls, buying puts, or executing bearish chart patterns like RSI divergence plays.
  • Neutral Strategies: In a neutral market, I deploy strategies designed to capitalize on volatility without a strong directional bias. This includes employing strangles, iron condors, or utilizing indicator-based strategies like MACD or RSI divergence plays.

Deciphering Market Trends

Understanding options strategies boils down to deciphering market trends and aligning your trading approach accordingly. By analyzing stock charts and identifying whether the market is in an uptrend, downtrend, or neutral phase, I can confidently select the most appropriate options strategy to maximize profits while minimizing risk.

So, the next time you’re navigating the options market, remember to keep it simple: identify the trend, choose your strategy, and execute with confidence.

If you want to trade options profitably with a 86%+ win rate and consistently generate monthly income, then join the 10% Credit Spreads program!

Thanks for reading 🙂
Austin Bouley
CEO & Chief Strategy Officer

--

--

10% Credit Spreads

I help people who work-full time or have a family make 10% a month using credit spreads! If you don't make money with my alerts and strategies, I refund you :)